CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2019

Steve DeRose 
Mt. Whitney High School 1977-1979, Arroyo Grande High School 1979-2015, California Polytechnic University, SLO

Teacher of Excellence 1992
Honorary American FFA Degree 1988
State CATA President 2012-2013

Steve started his career in 1977, moving soon to the central coast where he would leave an indelible mark on his community of Arroyo Grande and agricultural education as a whole.

Steve was a leader within the profession serving his section, region and the state.  His expertise was called upon while the original Blueprint for Excellence was drafted, laying the foundation for agriculture programs throughout the state.  He was an innovator bringing computers to the classroom and adopting technology as a teaching tool.  This did not take away his strong belief in hands on learning as under his direction the school farm and the schools floral design curriculum were created.  His passion and gregarious attitude led to students prospering with several state and national CDE titles.

Steve has left a lasting legacy in our profession with over thirty student teachers and numerous former students who have gone on to be agriculture teachers. 

William "Bill" Kellogg 
San Jacinto High School 1977-1983, California Polytechnic State University SLO 1983-2015

AAAE Outstanding Young Member 1989
Teacher of Excellence 2005
California FFA Distinguished Service Award 2006
National FFA VIP Award 2015

Inspired by his high school instructors, Dr. Kellogg began his career in the small dairy community of San Jacinto.  While only there for six years his passion and knowledge were noticed garnering Teacher of The Year for the district.  In 1983 he joined the faculty at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, where he served for thirty-two years.

Dr. Kellogg's vision and leadership were present throughout his career.  He helped to create the original program standards that would become the Agricultural Incentive Grant as he served our association at the sectional, regional and state levels.  He is a true believer of the three-circle model of agricultural education and instilled its importance in his teacher candidates.