CATA Hall of Fame - Class of 2009

Lloyd Doster

Santa Paula USD 1968-1969, Fresno Central 1969-1970, Antelope Valley Unified SD Palmdale/Littlerock 1970-2005, Antelope Valley College 1989-1991

CATA President 1983-1984
Teacher of Excellence

Lloyd Doster served the agricultural education profession for 37 years, with 35 years of that service dedicated to the Antelope Valley Unified School District. Lloyd was a recognized leader among his peers, both in CATA and in his local district. He served as a State CATA Officer, holding the office of State President in 1983-84. Lloyd was highly competitive on a statewide basis, coaching several judging teams, including state winning parliamentary procedure teams. He inspired young people in many ways, as evidenced by the fact that nearly a dozen of his students went on to join the ranks of agricultural teachers.

Gino Farinelli 
Escalon HS 1973-2005

Teacher of Excellence

Gino Farinelli exemplifies the dedication to both agricultural education and their local communities seen in the best of our profession. Gino was a product of Escalon High School and returned to his alma mater to help inspire and teach students in the community for 32 years. He mentored 25 student teachers during that time and inspired several of his own local students to become agricultural instructors. The Escalon program was truly a “balanced” program, with several State Champion teams, numerous State and American degree recipients, and a chapter that was always highly competitive in fairs and shows.
Ralph Loya 
North Salinas HS 1965-1966, Hanford HS 1966-1976, Reedley College 1976-2005

Teacher of Excellence
Outstanding Teacher

Ralph Loya served as an inspiring role model at both the high school and community college levels. Having coached ten State Champion teams in his ten-year career at Hanford High School, Ralph brought that same competitive fire and dedication to Reedley College, where he taught for 29 years. Through his efforts and leadership, he built a nationally recognized Animal Science program at Reedley College, and served as a mentor to some of the industry’s most influential leaders. Perhaps the greatest testimony to his impact on agricultural education is the fact that over 30 of his students went on to teach agriculture at high schools, community colleges, and universities throughout the state.
Clayton Oilar 
Lassen HS 1964-1966, Western Placer HS 1966-67, Nevada Union HS 1967-1970, Surprise Valley Joint Unified 1972-2005, CSU Chico 1970-1972

CATA President 1986-1987
Teacher of Excellence
Outstanding Teacher

Clayton Oilar served both the industry of agriculture and the ag education profession for over 40 years, with over 32 years of that service in the remote Surprise Valley Unified district. Well recognized for his work ethic and dedication to students, Clayton encouraged every student to participate in leadership and industry activities. During his entire teaching career, he missed only 2 ½ days of school, and was invariably the first to arrive at work each morning and was among the last to leave each evening. He coached State Champion livestock and land judging teams, and also served as State CATA President in 1986-87. Over 20 of his students went on to become agricultural instructors.

Larry P. Rathbun 
Rio Vista HS 1965-1967, Los Banos HS 1967-1970, California Polytechnic State University - San Luis Obispo 1970-1992

Teacher of Excellence
Outstanding Teacher
CATA Founders Award

Larry P. Rathbun is one of the most important figures in the development of modern Agricultural Education in California. Not only did he serve as a highly effective teacher educator for over 20 years at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, but also worked tirelessly to help create an agricultural education Unit within the California Department of Education, ensure adequate state funding for FFA, and develop new curriculum and instructional guides for ag education. Through his efforts, SB 187 was drafted and signed into law – ultimately leading to the passage and funding of the Agricultural Incentive Grant. He was instrumental in helping create the position of CATA executive director and served as a valued mentor to both Ken Harris and Jim Aschwanden.